UKC Women’s Soccer Recap October 25-31

UKC Women's Soccer Recap October 25-31

Women’s Soccer

The lone King’s side in the ACAA Soccer Championship Tournament, the UKC Women’s team faced off against their local rivals, the MSVU Mystics, in the 2v3 semi-final at Burnside Turf in Dartmouth. MSVU would find the back of the net through the efforts of Kayley Clair in the 21st minute. King’s then tried to open up the game by attacking from the wings, with Anna Dugandzic and Olivia Izsak both getting forward to create opportunities in the box and center mid Tia Lovegrove directing traffic and pulling strings in the midfield. The King’s defense repeatedly thwarted waves of Mystic attacks, with the backline of Adrianne Proudfoot, Dimitra Tsimiklis, Ally Brien and Kennedy Mackill cutting off breakaways, and keeper Rebecca Florean rising to the occasion to make stops when called upon. Content to preserve their 1-0 lead, the Mount defended critically through the second half to preserve the win.

Despite an early exit from the playoffs, there are plenty of positives to take away from the ACAA season. Head Coach Gary Carter has cultivated a skilled and passionate team, the bulk of which is set to return next year. Departures of center backs Lucy Carolan, Tsimiklis, and center mid Lily Wright will leave big shoes to fill, but the return of mid-field tandem Lovegrove and rising senior Rebecca Dupuis will ensure strength in the middle of the park. This year’s Blue Devils may be young, but this semi-final experience will aid in their development in the coming months ahead of the next ACAA season.


vs. MSVU 0-1 Loss

Conference Awards

At a virtual awards ceremony ahead of the ACAA championships, several King’s soccer players were honoured for their achievements.

Dimitra Tsimiklis received the Gerry LeBlanc Award, awarded annually to the female soccer player in the ACAA who best combines qualities of leadership, sportsmanship, enthusiasm and ability, both on and off the field.

Anna Dugandzic, Tia Lovergrove and Rebecca Florean were selected to the First Team All-Conference for Women’s Soccer, while Kennedy MacKill and Adrianne Proudfoot were selected to the Second Team.

On the men’s side, Cash Layden was selected to the First Team All-Conference and Ethan Oderkirk was selected to the Second Team.

Page Break