Returning Student Scholarships

Scholarships are available after your first year of study.

In addition to entrance scholarships, financial support and scholarships are available to students who are returning to King’s as well. Transfer students are eligible for these scholarships after they have completed a full year of study at King’s.

In-course scholarships

King’s has a strong commitment to providing in-course scholarships based on university-level achievement. If you achieve scholarship standing, you’ll automatically be considered for scholarships at the end of each academic year. Amounts will vary, but normally range from $2,250 to $5,000, and are provided through gifts, bequests and endowments, as well as from the college’s operating funds. You will be notified of any in-course scholarship you have been awarded during the summer and it will be reflected on your statement.

The John Godfrey Travelling Scholarship

This scholarship supports King’s students who are pursuing education or development projects in a developing country, or helps students from developing countries attend King’s. A total of $3,900 is available to be awarded each year. To be considered for this award, apply by writing to the King’s registrar before March 15. The letter of application should include a description of your intended activities in relation to a developing country.

Study/Work International Fund (SWIF)

The Study/Work International Fund (SWIF) provides funding to King’s students in financial need who wish to undertake an international placement as part of their academic program. Students should apply at least one month (preferably four to six weeks) prior to departure to allow enough time for review and processing.  Read more about SWIF here.

Frederick Butler Scholarship 

(One award at $1,700)  Established by the Alumni Association from G. Frederick Butler’s bequest.

Dr. Marion Fry Bursary

($2,200 can be given out as a single award or divided into separate awards) Established in 1993 to honour Dr. Marion Fry’s contribution to the university and the Alumni Association during her term as university president (1987-1993).

Alumni Association Memorial Bursary Fund

($1,200 for a number of small bursaries) This award is intended to provide a number of small bursaries for students registered full-time at King’s who are in need of financial support.

Library Hunt Fund 

(Allocated for book purchases up to $1,050) For 34 years, Dr. T. H. Hunt was the Alexandra Professor of Divinity at King’s College. In memory of his dedicated service, the Alumni Association established a library fund in his honour.

E. Mabel Mason Memorial Bursary

($950 can be given out as a single award or divided into separate awards) This award was established in 1937 in memory of E. Mabel Mason and is awarded each year to a female student.

For Information on Returning Student Scholarships:

Catherine Read

Assistant Registrar – Institutional Research and Awards, Registrar's Office | 902 422-1271 ext. 193

Alumni Association Awards

The King’s Alumni Association is committed to financially supporting students and their activities to enhance their overall experience at King’s. The Alumni Association is pleased to recognize students who work hard academically and contribute to the life of the College.

Applications for this year’s Alumni Association Student Awards have now closed.

Sandra MacLeod Award

(Two $2,125 awards, one annual and one renewable) This award commemorates the life of Sandra MacLeod, a King’s student who died in 1973. The award is made to a student with a good scholastic record who, by the fullest use of his or her qualities of character and mind, makes a contribution to the University of King’s College.

Michael Elliott Award

(Two $1,050 awards) This award, made possible through donations from Michael’s family and friends, is awarded to a returning student in good academic standing. This student, like Michael, displays integrity of character and a spirited concern for the lives of others, and has made an all-round contribution to the life of the university.

Michael Saunders Award 

(One award of $550) Given by the late Michael Saunders (BA ’52) in memory of his years at King’s, this award is for a returning student from New Brunswick with satisfactory academic standing who shows financial need, and has also made a positive commitment and contribution to life at the University of King’s College. Preference may be given to a student entering Holy Orders of the Anglican Church of Canada.

John Godfrey Book Award 

(One King’s Co-op Bookstore credit of $100) This award was established by the Alumni Association in 1987 to honour John F. Godfrey and his contribution to the School of Journalism during his term as university president (1977-1987). It is given to a journalism student who has made a significant contribution to this department at King’s.

New Brunswick Award

(One award at $700) Established by the New Brunswick alumni in 1984, this award is for a student from New Brunswick of good academic standing who has contributed to life at King’s. Preference will be given to students entering second year.

The Alumni Association also adjudicates the following on behalf of the college:

Beaver Club Award

(One award at $1,600) The award is given to a returning King’s student who, like members of the Beaver Club, has achieved above average academic standing, made a significant contribution to extra-curricular activities, and enhanced the quality of life at King’s.

King’s Bookstore Co-op Award

(One King’s Co-op Bookstore credit of $150) Established by Laurence and Kathleen Jerome, the award recognizes students who, like their son David Jerome, BSc(Hons.)’09, get involved in social action on behalf of the King’s community. The award supports an individual who has demonstrated initiative towards bettering campus life for all.

For information on Alumni Association Awards:

Chantal Caissie

Alumni Relations, Manager & Communications Specialist , |

University of King's College

Scholars-in-Residence Program

This program provides students with an opportunity to live with and learn from a vibrant community of peers. King’s students in any graduate program or undergraduate program entering at least their second year could receive $2,500 toward their residence fees to live in residence and organize an academic-related community program. Find out more.

University of King's College

Awards for graduating students

Students who are graduating from King’s and pursuing further studies have several funding options, through King’s and from external sources.

M. Grace Wambolt Law Study Award

This award is given to a student graduating from King’s who is accepted to study law at Dalhousie Law School or Oxford University. The president and faculty of King’s choose the recipient on the basis of the student’s academic merit, leadership capacity, and any required admission test score.

University of King's College

External funding for further study

Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC)

Students who are graduating from King’s and planning to do graduate work in the social sciences or humanities may apply for funding through SSHRC.

The Rhodes Scholarship

The Rhodes Scholarship provides funding to 11 outstanding students in Canada to enable them to study at the University of Oxford in the UK.  The students are chosen on the basis of exceptional intellect, character, leadership, and commitment to service. 30 Rhodes Scholars have graduated from King’s.

For Information on Graduating Student scholarships and External study funding:

Catherine Read

Assistant Registrar – Institutional Research and Awards, Registrar's Office | 902 422-1271 ext. 193