Home
/
The Final Report of the Independent Review

The Final Report of the Independent Review

Supporting Documents

Communications Timeline

May 16, 2023 - Message to the King’s Community: Updated Final Report of the Independent Review

This communication deals with sensitive subject matter including sexual assault.

Dear King’s community,

The Final Report of the Independent Review of Accusations of Sexual Assault Against Dr. Wayne Hankey conducted by Rubin Thomlinson was posted to the King’s website on March 15.  On that day, in the afternoon, I addressed the college community, offering an apology to all who were harmed by Dr. Hankey. And, on behalf of the college, I accepted the findings of the report and all five of its recommendations.

Today I write to address fulfilment of the first recommendation, which was to extend the opportunity for individuals to participate in the Independent Review for an additional 30-day period. Accordingly, the call for information was extended to April 14. Anyone with something to share who had not yet come forward, for whatever reason, was invited to contact Ms. Rubin in complete confidentiality.

Ms. Rubin has now informed us that she did receive additional contacts and, as a result, she has updated her Final Report to include one more incident and another example of bullying.

In keeping with our pledge to provide transparency, the updated version of the Report is now on our website. For clarity, Ms. Rubin has underlined all new information.

I want to remind everyone that supports are still available to the community. The link to them is through ‘Community Supports’ on the Final Report page.

Sincerely,

Bill

William Lahey
President, Vice Chancellor and Professor of Law

March 15, 2023 - Thirty Day Extension of the Independent Review

This communication deals with sensitive subject matter including sexual assault.

Dear King’s community,

The Final Report of the Independent Review on Accusation of Sexual Assault Against Dr. Wayne Hankey conducted by Rubin Thomlinson was posted to the King’s website this morning. This afternoon I addressed the college community, and, on behalf of the college, I accepted the findings of the report and all five of its recommendations. I also offered our apology to all who were harmed by Dr. Hankey. The Final Report and my address are now on the homepage of King’s website at www.ukings.ca.

I write to fulfill the first recommendation of the Final Report. The recommendation reads:

“What we have captured here may not be an exhaustive list of those people who were victimized by Dr. Hankey. It is possible that individuals have not identified themselves as part of this review because they thought they were alone in their experiences. Once this report is made available publicly, this dynamic may change. Therefore, we recommend that King’s make a final call out for anyone who had an experience with Dr. Hankey (or knowledge of one) that they would like us to consider as part of this report and that they be asked to contact us within 30 days of the publication of this report. To the extent that we receive additional information that we believe should augment this report, an updated report would be prepared.”

We accept the conclusion of Ms. Rubin that there are likely other experiences within her mandate yet to be shared. Therefore, in accordance with Ms. Rubin’s first recommendation, anyone who has not yet come forward to Ms. Rubin, because of any number of fears or concerns that may have held them back, have the next 30 days to do so in complete confidentiality.

If you have had an experience with Dr. Hankey you believe relevant to the review, or know someone who did, and you have not yet spoken with Ms. Rubin, she invites you to contact her, in confidence, at ukings@rubinthomlinson.com. This opportunity is available through end of day Friday, April 14.

I want to remind everyone that supports have been made available to the community. To access them, please consult the homepage at www.ukings.ca. The link to them will be through ‘Community Supports’ on the Final Report page.

Sincerely,

Bill

William Lahey
President, Vice-Chancellor and Professor of Law

March 14, 2023 - Message to the King’s Community: Final Report of the Independent Review

This communication deals with sensitive subject matter including sexual assault.

Dear King’s community,

I have received the Final Report of Janice Rubin’s Independent Review on Accusations of Sexual Assault Against Dr. Wayne Hankey. As outlined in my correspondence of January 30, receipt of the Report initiated visits and conversations with the men who are subjects of the Final Report. I have concluded these visits and talks.

The Terms of Reference for the Review call for the Report, redacted to protect confidentiality and privacy, to be made public. I write to tell you that King’s will be making the redacted Final Report public tomorrow, Wednesday March 15. It will go live on the King’s website at 11:30am Atlantic.

Tomorrow I will address the King’s community live from Alumni Hall at 1:30pm Atlantic to discuss the findings of the Report. If you can, please join us in Alumni Hall. For members of our community who are further afield or are unable to come to Alumni Hall, the address will be livestreamed. It will also be recorded and available by video for your convenience.

On Wednesday, March 15, at 11:30am Atlantic the link to both the Report and the livestream will be available through the home page of the King’s website at www.ukings.ca.

Thank you,

Bill

William Lahey
President, Vice Chancellor and Professor of Law

January 30, 2023 - Independent Review: anticipating the arrival of the Final Report

Dear King’s community,

The Final Report (“the report”) of the Independent Review conducted by Rubin Thomlinson LLP is expected in the relatively near future. The exact date is unknown. My purpose today is to inform you of the method by which it will be made public, as per our promise to the community. As you will read, the process will take time.

To begin, the Final Report will be delivered to me by Janice Rubin.

As stated in the Terms of Reference:

“A final report will be submitted to the President. A copy of the final report, with appropriate redactions in accordance with applicable law to protect individual privacy, will be released to the community.”

I am now in conversations with Ms. Rubin about how and when I will receive the report and about what I will be expected to do after I receive the report. All of these matters are being worked out in considerable detail with Ms. Rubin and I will be following her advice and directions carefully.

Maintaining the individual privacy of the people who have shared their experiences with Ms. Rubin is of preeminent and overriding importance. I share the determination of Ms. Rubin to ensure the college fully meets this priority not only in how and when we share the Final Report with the King’s community but on a permanent basis, guided by the wishes of the people whose privacy we will be dedicated to protecting.

The process of making the necessary redactions to protect privacy will take time. Therefore, there will be a delay after I receive the report before we are able to share it with the community.

In May of 2021, we received an Interim Report from Ms. Rubin and her colleague Elizabeth Bingham that included the following recommendation:

We recommend that King’s consider how it can put supports in place to allow the community to process our final report, such as community forums, town hall meetings, and/or access to counselling. We believe it is necessary for King’s to acknowledge and internalize the past in order to move forward as a community.”

Accordingly, we are expecting a Final Report that concludes people have suffered harms and that the university has accountability for their suffering.

In accordance with this expectation, when we receive the report, I want everyone in our community to know that my first priority will be talking about the report with those who have experienced harm. These discussions will be open-ended and will include the topic of how the university should proceed with its commitment to making the final report available to the King’s community. These conversations will take as long as they take. They may therefore delay the timing of the release of the report beyond the time required for the redaction process.

Both the redactions process and the process of making myself available to those who have been harmed before releasing the Final Report to the community, are in accordance with the values and principles that are at the core of the university’s Sexualized Violence Awareness Prevention and Response Policy and the Action Plan for a Culture of Consent and Respect we developed in response to the Interim Report.

Before ending I want to emphasize we have, as a community of care and concern, worked hard on all of the recommendations contained in the interim report, including the recommendation quoted above. Under the leadership of Sexual Health and Safety Officer Jordan Roberts, Dean of Students Katie Merwin, and Vice-President Sarah Clift, we have been implementing our Action Plan for a Culture of Consent and Respect, including by having the supports in place to support community members in their processing of the Final Report. You will find the Action Plan, which is a living document, updated to January 20, 2023, at Action Plan for a Culture of Consent and Respect. In addition, at any time and all times, a resource page of student supports is available on our website, and faculty and staff can access support through the Employee Assistance Plan (EAP).  More information on the supports available will be made available as the need for them arises, including for our alumni.

I appreciate that this is a matter of great interest to everyone in and outside our community. King’s remains committed to transparency, to our care for those who have experienced sexualized violence and to the promise of action on all recommendations made by Rubin Thomlinson that I made on February 2, 2021 and that I repeated on May 31, 2022.

Thank you,

Bill

William Lahey
President, Vice-Chancellor and Professor of Law

January 20, 2023 - January 2023 Update to the Action Plan for a Culture of Consent & Respect

Dear King’s community,

In August 2022 King’s published its response to recommendations provided in Rubin Thomlinson’s Interim Report. This report is part of the Independent Review commissioned by the University of King’s College in February 2021. The Action Plan for a Culture of Consent & Respect: Response to the Rubin Thomlinson Interim Report (“the Action Plan”) outlined how King’s would implement the report’s 10 recommendations.

Today we share updates to the Action Plan that reflect the status of this ongoing work. Updates have been added into the document and are clearly marked in blue. We invite you to review the updated Action Plan in its entirety, or you can review a summary of Action Plan updates.

Sincerely,

Sarah Clift
Vice-President

Jordan Roberts
Sexual Health and Safety Officer

Katie Merwin
Dean of Students

September 6, 2022 - Action Plan for a Culture of Consent & Respect: Response to the Rubin Thomlinson Interim Report

Warning: the following communication discusses sexualized violence and criminal charges of sexual assault.

Dear King’s community,

In February 2021, the University of King’s College announced it would commission an Independent Review into the facts surrounding charges of sexual assault brought against retired Professor Wayne Hankey and King’s responsibilities in light of those facts. In March of that year, Janice Rubin of Rubin Thomlinson LLP was appointed to conduct the Independent Review and the Terms of Reference were made public. With the matter then before the courts, King’s and Rubin Thomlinson committed to conduct the Review in a manner respectful of the criminal justice system.

Following the death of Professor Hankey in February 2022, King’s reiterated its commitment to the Independent Review.

The Independent Review is dual purpose:

  • the first purpose is to determine the facts and an appropriate response to the historic incidents that led to the charges against Wayne Hankey. This report is expected in the fall term;
  • the second purpose of the Independent Review is to make recommendations on the steps King’s must take to ensure it provides a safe environment for all members of its community in accordance with the commitments it has made in its Sexualized Violence Awareness and Response Policy.

On May 20 of this year, King’s received an Interim Report from Rubin Thomlinson that addresses the second purpose of the Independent Review. The Report contains “the measures King’s should take to ensure King’s is a safe community that supports the survivors and victims of sexual violence, and also responds effectively and accountably to sexualized violence in ways that are survivor/victim-centered.” These measures are outlined in 10 recommendations addressing culture, campus life, policy and procedure at King’s, as each of these may affect, and be affected by, sexualized violence.

The message to all members of the King’s community issued alongside the Interim Report on May 31 unequivocally accepted all recommendations and this was the beginning of the university’s response.

In further response, today King’s has published the Action Plan for a Culture of Consent and Respect (“the Action Plan”).

The Action Plan was developed by King’s Sexual Health & Safety Officer Jordan Roberts and Dean of Students Katie Merwin with the support of President William Lahey and Vice-President Dr. Sarah Clift. Further insights and information were gained through recent, direct consultation with constituencies including current students and alumni.

The Action Plan references efforts and cultural shifts at King’s that precede the Independent Review process. These include the creation of the role of Sexual Health & Safety Officer at King’s, the development of King’s Sexualized Violence Policy and collaborations across the post-secondary sector through the Provincial Sexual Violence Prevention Committee. King’s understands that the change called for in the Interim Report must go deeper than the development of policies, plans and offices; it must be more pervasive than the work already begun. As stated in the Action Plan’s Introduction, “What is called for is a fundamental change in our culture and a deep reckoning with our past.”

King’s publishes this Action Plan as a living document. To approach the work of fundamental change and deep reckoning in good faith, the University proceeds knowing that its understanding of this work and the resources we have to pursue it will strengthen with time. To ensure transparency, updates to this plan tracking our progress will be made regularly.

The ethos we embrace at King’s is to live and learn in community. We will live this work and learn from this work together. This document is one step in the process and signals a great step forward, one that will undoubtedly make the King’s community stronger.

Sincerely,

William Lahey
President, Vice-Chancellor and Professor of Law

Sarah Clift
Vice-President

Jordan Roberts
Sexual Health and Safety Officer

Katie Merwin
Dean of Students

Action Plan for a Culture of Consent & Respect

May 31, 2022 - Independent Review - Interim Report Released

Warning: the following communication discusses sexualized violence and criminal charges of sexual assault.

Dear King’s community,

Following charges of sexual assault brought against retired professor Wayne Hankey in February 2021, the University of King’s College announced it would commission an independent review of the facts of the matter, then before the courts, and of King’s responsibilities in light of those facts.

In March 2021, King’s announced that Janice Rubin at Rubin Thomlinson LLP would conduct the Independent Review and the terms of the review were made public. In a statement following the death of Wayne Hankey in February 2022, King’s reiterated its commitment to the Independent Review, which was always separate from any criminal justice matters.

The Independent Review is dual purpose and is to be released in two parts. The first purpose is to determine the facts and an appropriate response to the historic incidents that led to the charges against Wayne Hankey. We expect this report in September.

The second purpose of the Independent Review is to make recommendations on the steps King’s must now take to ensure it provides a safe environment for all members of its community in accordance with the commitments it has made in its Sexualized Violence Awareness and Response Policy. On Friday, May 20, King’s received an Interim Report from Rubin Thomlinson dealing with this part of the Independent Review. As promised in the terms of reference of the Independent Review, it is now on our website.

We thank the many who contributed to the work of Rubin Thomlinson LLP in preparing this Interim Report, King’s students, alumni, faculty and staff alike. There was robust participation from each of these groups in the survey conducted by Rubin Thomlinson and in the large number of follow up interviews they conducted. We acknowledge that many of the participants will have recalled and discussed information and experiences that would have been difficult to share. Thank you for doing this. King’s must act on the Interim Report in the fulsome way that will honour the trust and faith you placed in the Independent Review.

The information shared with Rubin Thomlinson shows that many members of our community have experienced sexualized violence or vulnerability to sexualized violence without having the protection and support they should have been provided. To all of these members of our community, we are sorry. We must address the ways in which King’s has failed you. To accomplish this, we will intensify our work that began in 2018 with the adoption of our Sexualized Violence Awareness, Prevention and Response Policy, enhancing the scope of this work to include the recommendations proposed in the Interim Report.

Today, the university unequivocally accepts all recommendations set forth in the Interim Report. To guide our adoption of these recommendations, King’s is developing a comprehensive action plan under the shared leadership of Jordan Roberts, King’s Sexual Health and Safety Officer, and Dean of Students Katie Merwin, both of whom are already at the forefront of contributing to our institutional change. Advice on the action plan will be taken from the university’s Sexualized Violence Policy Implementation Advisory Committee and all appropriate discussions within our governance processes will occur, including with King’s faculty on recommendations that concern faculty. All of this work will be for the purpose of determining how the recommendations of this Interim Report can be most effectively and fully implemented with urgency.

It should be noted that Rubin Thomlinson presented a preliminary summary of their Interim Report to various university constituencies in March, to solicit feedback on their preliminary findings and recommendations. Work on our action plan has been in progress since those presentations in anticipation of our receipt of the Interim Report.

When the action plan is finalized, it will be published on the King’s website with regular reports on the progress of its implementation. Today, the website is simply used to share the Interim Report as expeditiously as possible.

While an action plan is necessary, we understand that more is required than policy, procedures and sharing information on the university’s website. What is called for is a fundamental change in our culture and a deep reckoning with our past. We have started that process of change, but we must recognize we have a long way to go and that it is the responsibility of the university as a whole and not of those who have individualized experiences with, and vulnerabilities to, sexualized violence to take the lead role in this work.

Throughout this work, the University of King’s College will be steadfast in its commitment to provide a safe and supportive environment for everyone, one that is free of discrimination, harassment and all forms of violence.

Sincerely,

William Lahey
President, Vice-Chancellor and Professor of Law

Sarah Clift
Vice-President

Jordan Roberts
Sexual Health and Safety Officer

Katie Merwin
Dean of Students

INTERIM REPORT

February 6, 2022 - Statement following the death of former professor Dr. Wayne Hankey

To the King’s Community,

I write to acknowledge that the University has been made aware of the death of former professor Dr. Wayne Hankey. We extend our condolences to his family.

With this news has come some inquiry regarding the independent review process that was established by the University in February 2021. This review, which has always been separate from any criminal justice matters, will proceed. For anyone who feels they have a relevant contribution to this inquiry, you are invited to contact Janice Rubin and her firm at ukings@rubinthomlinson.com. King’s remains committed to learning from the findings of this process.

Sincerely,

Bill
William Lahey
President and Vice-Chancellor

May 28, 2021 - Statement from the Alumni Association Executive regarding charges against Dr. Wayne Hankey

Content Note: the following communication discusses sexualized violence and criminal charges of sexual assault.

Dear fellow alumni,

As you know, in February President Lahey announced the university would conduct an independent review into a criminal charge of sexual assault brought against retired professor Dr. Hankey, based on an incident that is reported to have occurred in a King’s residence in 1988. I encourage all alumni to read the terms of reference for the review. The scope was purposely made broad. Two additional charges have now been laid and there have been articles in the media that have been difficult for alumni (and everyone) to read. In this context, we wish to assure everyone that the scope of the review is broad enough to include these additional matters.

President Lahey discussed the terms of reference with all constituency groups at King’s. That consultation included the Alumni Association Executive. The Executive applaud the independent review and its proposed terms. We also strongly endorse the choice to select Janice Rubin and her firm. The Executive appreciates the way the university has consulted with us and we look forward to sharing continuing updates with you.

Above all, we respect the brave individuals who have put their trust in the justice system. The independent review will allow that process to follow its natural course without interference.

There is pain among some members of our community. We can feel angry, sad and conflicted as we come to understand, or be reminded, that the university we know and love, the place formative to our development and our lasting friendships, where we felt challenged, encouraged and supported, appears to have failed some of us in a fundamental way. To one degree or another, we wonder if there is something we can do?

Our purpose for writing is two-fold. We want to show support for the action of the university in establishing an independent review, and we want to remind everyone that there is something we can do. Whatever we want to say about this situation, we can share it confidentially with Janice Rubin. Let her judge what is and is not relevant to her inquiry, remembering that her terms of reference give her the independent authority to make findings and recommendations, “On any other matter arising from the Review on which the Review decides to make findings, recommendations or findings and recommendations.” Her email again is: ukings@rubinthomlinson.com.

Additionally, we are encouraged by changes that have been underway at King’s in recent years. With assistance and urging from the Students’ Union, King’s now has a sexualized violence policy that is far more robust than the policies that existed before 2018. King’s also has a Sexualized Violence Prevention and Response Officer. These recent steps signal to the whole community that King’s is committed to addressing sexualized violence, harassment or bullying with seriousness and determination.

A resource that may be helpful for those who are trying to find ways to support others, navigate the impacts of these conversations themselves, and meet the understandable urge to “do something” in the wake of the last four months is Break the Silence NS. One of their offerings is a six-part online training that can help people “learn more about sexual violence and how to support someone who has survived it.” While some of the content is specific to Nova Scotia the majority is applicable to everyone, no matter where you are. Educating ourselves on how to talk about sexualized violence, support survivors, interrupt harm when we see it, and how to build consent culture is an important step anyone can take if they are looking for ways to act.

The Alumni Association’s mission has always been to support King’s and each other. Let us be patient for the results of this review and let us not allow it to end without making our contributions to it. We may be able to help in ways we cannot presently or individually judge.

Thank you.

Paul Thomson BA ’90
President of the King’s Alumni Association

Voting members of the Alumni Association Executive:
Vice-President, Ian Whytock, BA’10;
Treasurer, Stuart Pattillo, BA’05
Secretary, Adria Young, BA(Hons)’10
Victor Bomers, BSc (Hons)’09
Rachael Cadman, BA(Hons)’13
Ben Kates, BA(Hons)’04
Andrew MacDonald, BJ(Hons)’99
Jennifer MacLeod, BA’78
Stephanie McGrath, BJ(Hons)’99
Beth McNeil, BA’13
Lesley-Anne Steeleworthy, BJ’02

Ex-officio:
Past President, Jen Laurette, BA’01
KSU President, Nick Harris

April 13, 2021 - Community statement regarding additional charges against Dr. Wayne Hankey

Warning: The following communication discusses sexualized violence and criminal charges of sexual and indecent assault.

To the King’s community and the wider public,

I write to acknowledge that further criminal charges have been brought against former professor Dr. Wayne Hankey. Halifax Police announced today that they have charged Wayne Hankey with one count of sexual assault in relation to an incident in 1982 and one count of indecent assault in relation to incidents that occurred between 1977 and 1979. We respect the criminal justice process, the trust that the complainants have placed in this system, and the rights of all those involved. We also continue to acknowledge the strength and courage that all complainants have marshalled to proceed through this system.

King’s established an independent review on February 1. On March 4, we confirmed the appointment of Janice Rubin and her law firm as the independent reviewers. These new charges fall within the scope of that review. You can read the terms of the review here. The work of the review is now underway. Members of our community have been invited by Janice Rubin, the lead reviewer, to contact her with any information that may assist her work. This invitation is wide enough to include other people beyond our immediate college community as required. I invite anyone reading this who feels they have a relevant contribution, to contact Ms. Rubin at ukings@rubinthomlinson.com.

I wish also to acknowledge the article about King’s and Dr. Hankey that recently appeared in the Chronicle Herald and the painful experiences that members of our community shared in that article. The subject matter of that article is also within the scope of the independent review already established.

More will be said after our independent review is complete, when we have the benefit of the reviewer’s findings and recommendations. For today, we acknowledge these additional developments, confirm that the existing terms of the independent review are broad enough to encompass these further developments, and recognize those who have had the courage to come forward.

We encourage any member of the King’s community who has experienced sexualized violence or who has found this news difficult, to come forward to get the support you need, knowing that you will be treated with dignity and respect. King’s Sexualized Violence Prevention and Response Officer, Jordan Roberts, is at King’s and available to provide confidential services and support to community members who need it. We also have a comprehensive list of additional support services here, which includes the stand alone comprehensive Sexualized Violence Prevention and Response Policy King’s adopted in 2018.

The University of King’s College is committed to providing a safe and supportive environment for everyone; one that is free of discrimination, harassment and all forms of violence.

Sincerely,

Bill
William Lahey
President and Vice-Chancellor

April 12, 2021 - Call for participation in Independent Review of accusation of sexual assault against Dr. Wayne Hankey

Warning: the following communication discusses sexualized violence and a criminal charge of sexual assault. 

Dear King’s community,

Please use this link to read a letter from Janice Rubin, the lawyer leading the independent review of accusation of sexual assault against retired professor Dr. Wayne Hankey. Ms. Rubin is inviting your participation if you believe you have something to contribute to her work. While addressed to the King’s community, the invitation includes anyone who believes they have relevant information.

Letter to King’s Community [PDF]

March 4, 2021 - Message from the Chair of the Board of Governors, University of King’s College

Trigger warning: the following communication discusses sexualized violence and a criminal charge of sexual assault.

Dear King’s community,

Earlier today, President Lahey announced that the university has procured the services of Toronto lawyer, Janice Rubin, and her firm Rubin Thomlinson LLP to conduct an independent review for King’s. This is in response to retired professor Dr. Wayne Hankey being charged with sexual assault in a King’s residence in 1988. The Review will determine the facts and an appropriate response.

The Board is committed to working with the President, the King’s community, and Ms. Rubin in ensuring that this review is independent and complete.

On behalf of the Board of Governors, I commend President Lahey for the leadership he has shown in this matter. Terms of Reference were developed swiftly but carefully and with inclusive consultation. President Lahey canvased widely for advice regarding who should conduct the review. Once satisfied, the President quickly moved to secure for King’s a lawyer with a national reputation and an acknowledged depth of expertise in institutional reviews and investigations. Ms. Rubin’s experience is needed to ensure the confidence of our community, which includes confidence that the Review can and will be conducted in a way that is respectful of individual privacy and the parallel criminal justice process now underway.

This review process and the chosen reviewer have the full support of the Board of Governors of the University of King’s College.

Sincerely,

Douglas G. Ruck QC
Chair of the Board of Governors

March 4, 2021 - Rubin Thomlinson LLP to Conduct Independent Review for King’s

Trigger warning: the following communication discusses sexualized violence and a criminal charge of sexual assault.

Dear King’s community,

It has been four weeks since Dr. Wayne Hankey has been charged with sexual assault in a King’s residence in 1988. I promised a third-party independent review to determine the facts and an appropriate response, conducted in a way that is respectful of the criminal justice system.

Today, I write to tell you that King’s has appointed well-respected Toronto lawyer, Janice Rubin, and her firm Rubin Thomlinson LLP to conduct the Review. Janice Rubin is widely acknowledged as a leading authority on workplace harassment in Canada. She is a pioneer in the field of workplace investigations, assessments and reviews. Additionally, Janice has identified Elizabeth Bingham as the colleague at Rubin Thomlinson LLP who will assist her with the Review. They proceed with our full confidence and support.

The Terms of Reference for the Review can be read here and were developed in consultation with Janice Rubin and others, including representative leadership groups from within our community including students, faculty, staff, alumni and board.

We have also been cooperating with the Halifax Police, who contacted King’s last month asking for employee records pertaining to Dr. Hankey, and who will be providing the necessary production order with the legal authority to require the provision of this otherwise confidential information. King’s has gathered the available information. One document that is no longer available is the report from the committee that looked into the charges that led to Dr. Hankey being disciplined by King’s in 1991. While there is institutional memory about the work of this committee and ancillary documents pertaining to the committee’s work, a comprehensive search led us to conclude that the university’s copy of the report has not existed for a number of years. The scope of the Review is broad enough to include this matter.

The university will not be saying anything that could interfere with the credibility and effectiveness of the Review. From this day forward, Janice Rubin and her team will determine how they do their work, not the university. As their work gets underway, more will be communicated about their process. In the meantime, I have been asked to share that they have set up a dedicated email address for the Review, ukings@rubinthomlinson.com, should anyone wish to reach out to them on a confidential basis.

Please also be reminded that King’s has a policy and supports in place for any member of our King’s community who has experienced sexualized violence, or who has found this news difficult, to come forward to get the support you need, knowing that you will be treated with dignity and respect. King’s Sexualized Violence Prevention and Response Officer, Jordan Roberts, Jordan.roberts@ukings.ca, is at King’s and available to provide confidential services and support to community members who need it.

With this announcement and the sharing of the Terms of Reference, King’s will be fully transparent. As the Review moves forward, be assured that our silence is born of respect for the process and not any avoidance of it.

This has been difficult for our community. In my responses to the students and alumni who have contacted me, I have emphasised the responsibility of King’s to be both factual and fair. When the Review concludes you will hear from King’s again. And at that time, King’s will be as transparent as the law allows. I am determined that future generations will not find us wanting. The University of King’s College is committed to providing a safe and supportive environment for everyone; one that is free of discrimination, harassment and all forms of violence.

Sincerely,

Bill

William Lahey
President and Vice-Chancellor

February 2, 2021 - Message to our community concerning Dr. Hankey

Trigger warning: the following communication discusses sexualized violence and a criminal charge of sexual assault. 

Dear King’s community,

Yesterday I sent a communication to our immediate community, students, faculty and staff. Today, I wish to address our broader community, particularly our alumni.

We have learned that retired professor Dr. Wayne Hankey has been charged with sexual assault in relation to an incident which occurred in a King’s residence in 1988.

We acknowledge the courage and fortitude of those who step forward to make a complaint to the police–and of everyone who steps forward with their experiences. At the same time, we respect, as we must, the process of the criminal justice system, the trust that the complainant has placed in this system, and the rights of all those involved.

As an institution we take this matter and the concerns its raises very seriously. Specifically, I can assure you we take our responsibility as leaders to address harm, pursue justice, and protect student well-being very seriously. We have taken significant measures in recent years to confront, address and redress sexualized violence at King’s. Like other institutions, we have far to go. But we have in place the will, policy and personnel we need to change the culture at King’s in the direction you—and our students overwhelmingly—are calling for. We are focused on what matters most—the health, safety and well-being of our students and the safety of our community for everyone.

In our statement yesterday, I committed to an independent review of the facts of the matter now before the courts and of our responsibilities in light of those facts. The review will be conducted to ensure that we don’t interfere with the criminal justice process.

In the event that you would like a space to talk or if you need any support, please connect with King’s Sexualized Violence Prevention and Response Officer, Jordan Roberts at jordan.roberts@ukings.ca or 902-229-6123. You will be treated with respect, dignity and confidentiality.

Today there are questions about the portrait of Dr. Hankey that was hanging in our library. This portrait, which was not commissioned by King’s and belonged to Dr. Hankey, was removed in October 2020 and was returned to its owner.

Any reports of sexualized violence or any other kind of violence are deeply troubling to us and this situation is no exception. I feel, and am respectful of, the pain within our community. As circumstances permit, we will say more. And we will act.

Sincerely,

Bill
William Lahey
President and Vice-Chancellor

February 1, 2021 - Community statement concerning retired professor Dr. Hankey

Trigger warning: the following communication discusses sexualized violence and a criminal charge of sexual assault.

Dear King’s community,

We have learned that retired professor Dr. Wayne Hankey has been charged with sexual assault in a King’s residence in 1988.

Dr. Hankey retired from King’s in 2015. Like other retired professors, he is an Inglis Professor. While we respect the process of the criminal justice system, we also acknowledge the courage of those who step forward to make a complaint to the police – and of everyone who steps forward with their experiences.

In response to today’s news, King’s will be conducting an independent review to determine the facts and an appropriate response. It will be conducted in a way that is respectful of the criminal justice system and allows it to run its course.

We will not be making further comments about this matter at this time, as this is now before the courts. However, it is important to state that the university recognizes sexualized violence as a serious issue in society and at King’s and we understand it harms members of our college community in many ways. Acknowledging the impact of sexualized violence, our need to address it, and its inconsistency with our values, King’s created and adopted a Sexualized Violence Awareness, Prevention and Response Policy in 2018 after a broadly consultative process over a period of more than two years. This is one step in our commitment to making King’s a safer, more supportive space, and welcoming for everyone.  King’s also hired a Sexualized Violence Prevention and Response Officer in 2019.

Revision of the policy is ongoing and strengthening changes were recently made as part of an annual review. They were approved by the Board of Governors in December.

We recognize the fortitude and courage involved in coming forward with matters involving sexualized violence. We encourage any member of our King’s community who has experienced sexualized violence or who has found this news difficult, to come forward to get the support you need, knowing that you will be treated with dignity and respect. King’s Sexualized Violence Prevention and Response Officer, Jordan Roberts, is at King’s and available to provide confidential services and support to community members who need it. We also have a comprehensive list of additional support services here.

The University of King’s College is committed to providing a safe and supportive environment for everyone; one that is free of discrimination, harassment and all forms of violence.

Sincerely,

William Lahey
President and Vice-Chancellor